Martha Wainwright is set to return with her third studio album, Come Home To Mama, via Cooperative Music in the U.S. on October 16th.  The album is her first collection of original music in four years and was produced by Yuka C. Honda of Cibo Matto.  Recorded earlier this year, mostly at Sean Lennon’s home studio in New York City, Come Home To Mama displays the passionate angst of her 2005 eponymous debut coupled with the twisted pop of 2008’s I Know Your Married But I’ve Got Feelings Too.  Yuka and Martha have created an edgy, multi-instrumental soundscape that showcases Martha’s raw, confessional poetry with undeniable style and grace.  The captivating 10-song set features performances from Yuka Honda, Nels Cline (Wilco), Sean Lennon, Jim White (Dirty Three), Brad Albetta and Thomas Bartlett (Doveman).

During the winter of 2009 and 2010, Martha gave birth to her first child and her mother passed away.  Confronted with both joy and anger, the songs on Come Home To Mama are, at times, aggressive and forceful, but also the most reflective of Martha’s songs to date.  She stated, “This record is a culmination of my life experiences so far.  Everything changed for me a couple of years ago and this record is a representation of that and a return to the reason I started writing songs.”  Martha continued, “I’ve made this record as a motherless child and as a mother.  Two things I had never been before.  For me, it is a new beginning.”

Regarding Yuka C. Honda’s production, Martha stated, “Making this record was a totally different experience.  Yuka’s approach was very open.  Sometimes I would just demo the song, singing in the closet, which served as the vocal booth, then she would build the track around that.  In other instances we would jam with a few musicians and try and get a live take.  I don’t think I’ve ever sung this hard, played this hard, or tried this hard.”

Come Home To Mama Track Listing:

1.     I Am Sorry

2.     Can You Believe It?

3.     Radio Star

4.     Proserpina

5.     Leave Behind

6.     Four Black Sheep

7.     Some People

8.     I Wanna Make An Arrest

9.     All Your Clothes

10. Everything Wrong